CCCO on Main III: Four Seasons of Buenos Aires

5 months ago Posted By : User Ref No: WURUR177845 0
  • Image
  • TypeMusic
  • Image
  • Location Harwich, Massachusetts, United States
  • Price
  • Date 03-03-2024
CCCO on Main III: Four Seasons of Buenos Aires, Harwich, Massachusetts, United States
Music Title
CCCO on Main III: Four Seasons of Buenos Aires
Event Type
Music Date
Harwich, Massachusetts, United States
Organization Name / Organize By
Cape Cod Chamber Orchestra
Organizing/Related Departments
Cape Cod Chamber Orchestra
Organization Type
Event Organizing Company
Non Technical
All (State/Province/Region, National & International)
Related Industries
Harwich, Massachusetts, United States

CCCO on Main #3: Four Seasons of Buenos Aires

Sunday, March 3rd, 2024, 3 PM

Pilgrim Congregational Church

533 Rt. 28, Harwich Port MA

Join us for an afternoon of Corelli, Bach and Astor Piazzolla's Four Seasons of Buenos Aires featuring our CCCO string players.

Opening with Astor Piazzolla's "Libertango," the audience is immediately transported to the passionate streets of Buenos Aires. Piazzolla, a master of the nuevo tango genre, infuses traditional Argentine tango with elements of jazz and classical music, creating a piece that is both exhilarating and evocative.

Following this Latin American escapade, Arcangelo Corelli's "Concerto Grosso No. 4, Op.6 in D" takes center stage, representing the Baroque period. Corelli's concerto grosso showcases the intricate interplay between a small group of soloists and the larger ensemble, exemplifying the period's emphasis on contrast and ornamentation.

Johann Sebastian Bach's "Orchestral Suite No. 3" provides a transition, introducing the audience to the elegance and precision of the Baroque dance suite. The suite's buoyant rhythms and exquisite orchestrations demonstrate Bach's mastery of form and structure.

Returning to the sultry embrace of Argentine music, Astor Piazzolla's "Four Seasons of Buenos Aires" concludes the program, featuring four violin soloists from the orchestra. A homage to Vivaldi's iconic work, Piazzolla transforms the classical seasons into a vivid portrayal of Buenos Aires throughout the year, infusing the composition with the rhythmic intensity and melodic allure of the tango.


Libertango - Astor Piazzolla

Concerto Grosso No. 4, Op.6 in D - Corelli

Orchestral Suite No. 3 - J.S. Bach

Four Seasons of Buenos Aires - Astor Piazzolla

Jean Huang, Emma Powell, Kiyoshi Hayashi, and Jesse MacDonald, violins

Others Details

Category: Live Music | Classical

Registration Fees
Registration Fees Details
General Admission: USD 35.00
Registration Ways
Pilgrim Congregational Church  533 Massachusetts 28, 02646  Pin/Zip Code : 02646
Matthew Scinto

[email protected]